X Online Chat
close window



Mount Gulian Historic Site

This National Historic Landmark is a reconstructed 18th century Dutch manor house on the Hudson River that today is a museum.

145 Sterling St.
Beacon, NY 12508
Explore Mount Gulian Historic Site Using Our Interactive Map
This National Historic Landmark is a reconstructed 18th century Dutch manor house on the Hudson River. Before it was destroyed by arsonist fire in 1931, the original mansion served as the headquarters of Major General Friedrich Wilhelm von Steuben during the American Revolutionary War. It was also the site where the Society of the Cincinnati was founded.

The ruin of the house was left abandoned until 1966 when a descendant of the Verplanck family, founded the Mount Gulian Society with the goal of restoring Mount Gulian which was completed in 1975. The restoration reconstructed the house to the state it was in when it served as von Steuben's headquarters.

Today, the museum contains interior contains artifacts related to the Verplanck family as well as an 18th-century Dutch barn, which was moved to this location from Hopewell Junction. The museum is open from April through October.

Mount Gulian also hosts weddings and events.

Beacon, NY

Current Conditions


May 29
May 30
May 31
Jun 1
Jun 2
8am 54°53°44°47°50°
2pm 71°59°67°70°69°
8pm 68°69°71°73°61°

Dining near Beacon BOOK YOUR STAY Things To Do near Beacon Camping / RV near Beacon



West Point Foundry Preserve
Hudson Valley
Explore West Point Foundry Preserve  Using Our Interactive Map
Follow the trails to explore one of America’s most important industrial sites of the Industrial Revolution and the Civil War at this “outdoor museum...”
Historic Huguenot Street
Hudson Valley
Explore Historic Huguenot Street Using Our Interactive Map
This well-preserved historical gem of the 17th century lets visitors experience more than 300 years of history across seven historic stone-house museums...
Rondout Lighthouse
Hudson Valley
Explore Rondout Lighthouse Using Our Interactive Map
The last of three lighthouses marking the entrance to the Rondout Creek, the Rondout Lighthouse is still fully operational as a navigational light and one of only seven remaining on the Hudson River.
Sleepy Hollow Lighthouse
Hudson Valley
Explore Sleepy Hollow Lighthouse Using Our Interactive Map
Also known as the Tarrytown Light and Kingsland Point Light, this historic lighthouse was first lit in 1883 and served to warn ships away from dangerous shoals on the east side of the Hudson River.

Click here to learn more about
Hudson Valley